Border Agreement Europe

In 1990, the Convention was supplemented by the Schengen Convention, which proposed the abolition of internal border controls and a common visa policy. It was this agreement that created the Schengen area through the total abolition of border controls between the Schengen Member States, common visa rules and police and judicial cooperation. [Citation required] Although Ireland and the United Kingdom are not parties to the Schengen Agreement, they may, with the agreement of the Council of the EU, apply all or part of the Schengen acquis and participate in its development. They do not provide Schengen visas and only partially apply the Schengen Agreement. The Council of the EU approved a request from both countries to participate in strengthening police and judicial cooperation in criminal matters, the fight against drug-related crime and the Schengen Information System (SIS). However, neither country has abolished border controls. Certain requirements still need to be met before the Schengen acquis can be fully implemented. These include the establishment of the second generation Schengen Information System (SIS II) and the successful completion of evaluations that show that the conditions for full implementation are indeed met. Only when these measures have been completed can the political decision be taken on the full implementation of the agreement and the abolition of border controls.

This was due to the fact that investigators had reported security deficiencies at the Schengen external border in Greece. Greece has published a set of implementing measures to remedy the situation. The Council issued such recommendations in the following months, until they reached, in November 2017, the maximum total duration of the checks, which is possible under the legislation in force. Since 2015, a number of measures have been implemented to strengthen the EU`s external borders: the European Border and Coast Guard Agency, also known as Frontex, was created in 2016, the bloc signed a refugee agreement with Turkey in 2016 to ease the burden on Greece, and smarter information systems, as well as other reinforcement and support mechanisms. were installed on the outskirts of Schengen. The free movement of persons was an essential element of the Treaty of Rome and, since the beginning of the European Economic Community, nationals of EEC Member States could move freely from one Member State to another against the requirement of their passport or identity card. [4] However, systematic identity checks have been carried out at the border between most Member States. [Citation required] Andorra has not signed the Schengen Convention, but there are no border controls with the neighbouring countries of Spain and France. .